Website Header

Jump to navigation

Website Content

Jump to footer

Garrick Theatre

About Nimax

Chairman - Max Weitzenhoffer
Chief Executive - Nica Burns
Executive Director - Joan Moynihan
Commercial Director - Laurence Miller
Finance Director - Tony Yoe
Operations Director - James Heaton
Head of Finance - Fay Diggins
Consultant - George Biggs
Legal and Business Affairs - Nicola Rubbert
Marketing Manager - Antonia Perkins
Marketing Manager - Charelle Griffith
Theatre Operations Manager - Hayley Spong
Buildings Manager - Matthew Radcliffe-Godfrey
Customer Service Manager - James Charlton
Operations Coordinator - Mark Smedley
Head of Ticketing Systems - Chris Austin
Head of Box Office - Nicholas Robinson
Ticketing Systems Administrator - Ross Phillips
Trade Desk Administrator - Daniel Swan
Financial Accountant - Wayne Young
Management Accountant - Lizzie Nathanielsz
Payroll & Finance Assistant - Kirsty Gibson
Finance Assistant - Priyel Patel
Accounts Payable Officer - Eleanor Brooker
EA to Nica Burns - Stephanie Creed
PA to Nica Burns - Annabel Watson
PA to Laurence Miller - Susanne Noble
Design & Digital - Marc Murphy
Operations Administrator - Jennifer Hoare
Reception - Jennifer O’Kane
Reception - Sarah Morris
Health & Safety Consultant - David Leach
Accountants - Blinkhorns
Architects - Monahan Blythen Hopkins Architects
Consultant Doctor - Dr Richard Dawood Fleet St Clinic


Nica has over 30 years experience in theatre. After reading law at University College London she trained at Webber Douglas and worked as an actress before becoming Artistic Director of the Donmar Warehouse from 1983 to 1989. She was Production Director of Stoll Moss and Really Useful Theatres from 1993 to 2005 programming and running ten West End theatres. She has been an independent, award winning producer throughout her career.

In 2005 with her business partner Max Weitzenhoffer she founded Nimax Theatres and co-owns the Palace, Lyric, Apollo, Garrick, Vaudeville and Duchess Theatres. Nica has sat on many boards, from Sadler’s Wells to the King’s Head Theatre Club. She was appointed Fellow of University College London in 2007 and was elected President of the Society of London Theatre from 2008 – 2010 (Vice President 2011 - 2013). Nica was awarded an OBE for services to theatre in the 2013 New Year’s honours list and later that year she won Private Business Woman of the Year at the 2013 UK Private Business Awards.

Nica has had a long involvement in the comedy industry as Director of the annual Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards, formerly the Perrier Awards.

In 2012 Nica, working with her development partners Derwent London Ltd and Crossrail, obtained planning permission to build a new theatre on Charing Cross Road which has an estimated completion date of 2017.

Her productions include: Medea starring Fiona Shaw and directed by Deborah Warner (Queen’s 2001, and Broadway 2002, Evening Standard Awards 2001 for Best Director and Best Actress), Feelgood by Alistair Beaton (Garrick 2001, Evening Standard Awards 2001 for Best Comedy), Kiss Me Kate (Victoria Palace 2001, Evening Standard Award 2001 for Best Musical), and My Brilliant Divorce starring Dawn French (Apollo 2004). In 2005: Sitting Pretty by Amy Rosenthal (tour), Christian Slater in One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (Gielgud), David Suchet in Man and Boy (Duchess), Who’s the Daddy? By Toby Young and Lloyd Evans (King’s Head) and David Schwimmer in Some Girl(s) by Neil LaBute (Gielgud).  In 2006: Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? starring Kathleen Turner (Apollo, 2006 Evening Standard Award for Best Actress), the reprise of One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest starring Christian Slater and Alex Kingston (Garrick), Breakfast with Mugabe (Duchess), Fool for Love starring Juliette Lewis (Apollo), and See How They Run (Duchess). In 2007: A Moon for the Misbegotten starring Kevin Spacey (Old Vic and Broadway) and Swimming with Sharks starring Christian Slater (Vaudeville).  In 2008: Rain Man starring Josh Hartnett (Apollo). In 2009: Three Days of Rain starring James McAvoy (Apollo), Timing by Alistair McGowan (King’s Head), The Rise and Fall of Little Voice starring Lesley Sharp and Marc Warren (Vaudeville) and Endgame starring Marc Rylance and Simon McBurney (Duchess). In 2010: she co-produced Noël Coward’s Design for Living (Old Vic) and When We Are Married (Garrick). In 2011: Matthew Fox and Olivia Williams in a new Neil LaBute play, In a Forest, Dark and Deep (Vaudeville), Ecstasy by Mike Leigh (with Hampstead Theatre at the Duchess), Pygmalion starring Rupert Everett and Kara Tointon (Garrick) and cabaret artist Meow Meow (Apollo).  In 2012: Eugene O’Neill’s Long Days Journey Into Night with David Suchet and Laura Metcalf (Apollo, 2013 Laurence Olivier Award for Best Revival). In 2013: Tennessee Williams’s Sweet Bird of Youth starring Kim Cattrall (co-production with the Old Vic at the Old Vic), winner of the Best Newcomer Award for Seth Numrich at the Evening Standard Award 2013. Also in 2013 The Resistible Rise of Arturo Ui (co-production with Chichester Festival Theatre at the Duchess) and The Duck House (Vaudeville) a new comedy by Dan Patterson and Colin Swash starring Ben Miller and Nancy Carroll.


Max has been involved in numerous shows, such as Sleuth, Equus, The Elephant Man, Rose, Timbuktu, Mass Appeal, Passion and the Royal Shakespeare Company’s production of Piaf.  He co-produced Off-Broadway Tickles by Tucholsky, The Good Parts, Three Guys Naked From The Waist Down and Road To Mecca.

On Broadway his work includes the International Tony Award winning hit Dracula, Going Up, Harold and Maude, Pump Boys and Dinettes, Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Song and Dance, Blood Knot, Burn This, Largely New York and the Tony Award winning musical The Will Rogers Follies.  In the West End: Budgie, Burn This.  In 1999 he started co-producing with Nica Burns. Productions include: Scissor Happy, Defending The Caveman (2000 Oliver Award), Medea starring Fiona Shaw directed by Deborah Warner (2001 Evening Standard Awards for Best Actress and Best Director), Feelgood (2001 Evening Standard Award for Best Comedy), My Brilliant Divorce (Apollo) One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (Gielgud and Garrick), Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Apollo), A Moon for the Misbegotten (Old Vic and Broadway), Swimming with Sharks (Vaudeville), Rain Man (Apollo), Three Days of Rain (Apollo), The Rise and Fall of Little Voice (Vaudeville) and Endgame (Duchess).  In 2010, When We Are Married (Garrick) and Design for Living (Old Vic). In 2011  Matthew Fox and Olivia Williams in a new Neil Labute play, In a Forest, Dark and Deep at the Vaudeville, Ecstasy by Mike Leigh with Hampstead Theatre at the Duchess, Pygmalion starring Rupert Everett and Kara Tointon at the Garrick.  In 2012, Long Day’s Journey into Night at the Apollo. In 2013: Tennessee Williams’ Sweet Bird of Youth at the Old Vic starring Kim Cattrall, a co-production with the Old Vic and The Resistible Rise of Arturo Ui at the Duchess Theatre, a co-production with Chichester Festival Theatre. and The Duck House (Vaudeville) a new comedy by Dan Patterson and Colin Swash starring Ben Miller and Nancy Carroll.

Max and his business partner Nica Burns own six of London’s playhouses: the Palace, Lyric, Apollo, Garrick, Duchess and Vaudeville Theatres, forming Nimax Theatres Limited.

Website Footer

Back to top